What is Ayurveda


Is rooted in ancient Vedic text and Hindu philosophies. It is a sacred science used to discover your elemental structure and how to find balance within the Universe.

Ayurveda teaches the importance of the 5 Elements. How the elements relate to you, and how we can live amongst them peacefully. As all Life was created through an un-manifested state of consciousness, they began to manifest as a unified state of consciousness. The subtle vibrations of the consciousness created the sound AUM. From the vibrations, space was created as the Ether element appeared. The ether element started to move and create Air. Air started to create friction and light. Fire was made. The smoke began to dissolve and turn into a liquid. Water was created. As the water solidified it began to make the earth. From the Earth all life came to be.

5 Elements

  1. Ether
  2. Air
  3. Fire
  4. Water
  5. Earth

The 5 elements hold qualities that effect more than just the physical realm. They can alter our mental and emotional bodies as well. Everything is made up of energy and vibrations. Our energetic bodies hold a great importance to our health. It can help heal and transform the physical body. When we heal from the deep layers of our being we can truly evolve to our highest good.

The 7 layers of the Body

  1. Annamaya Kosha: Gross Physical Body
  2. Pranamaya Kosha: Vital Air breath and subtle body
  3. Manomaya Kosha: Mental, Psychoemotional subtle body
  4. Vijnyanamaya Kosha: Intellect and wise subtle body
  5. Anadamayan Kosha: Blissful body, the you before conditioning (Casual body)
  6. Cittamaya: Body of Consciousness
  7. Atmamaya: Body of Soul

The elements are constantly around us and are fed to us by our senses. What we eat, smell, taste, hear, and see. It is up to us to control our mind, intellect, and emotions to serve us to our highest good. By being aware of our environments, internal and external. We can observe and see how we are aiding to our health or demise.

Become Aware

As you become aware of what you give to your body. You start to naturally go into a cleanse. You maximize what is good for you while discarding what makes you feel drained, depleted or exhausted.

The five elements are grouped into 3 Doshas. Doshas in Sanskrit means bad. It infers that when an element or quality is in excess, it can be the cause of disease. It is up to ourselves to know how to properly care and give balance to our bodies. It is our duty for loving and cherishing our own being.

Pitta. Vata, & Kapha

Knowing the elements and doshas will help you understand your own unique constitution. Know that you can be made up of 7 combinations

  1. Pitta
  2. Vatta
  3. Kapha
  4. Pitta/Vata
  5. Pitta/Kapha
  6. Kapha/Vata
  7. Vata/Pitta/Kapha

One is not better than the other, they are uniquely created to uphold the balance of the universe. We are the Microcosm of the universe.

You can take a Dosha quiz to help you learn more about your energetic constitution. Once you know your energy, you can become more in touch with your body, mind, and spirit. Knowing your energy is important to your health. You are able to identify how your playing an active role in your healing.

Ayurveda allows you to step into your power and gives you the tools to help you over come the stress in life.

Published by Troops In Tune

Teaching self care practices with the principles of Yoga, Ayurveda, & Sound Healing

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: